A Day in a Simple Life

There has been a meme going around the Internet about doing a day in your life.  I got tagged, so here is a day in my now much simpler life.  Since most days I do not have to be in a specific place, at a certain time my schedule is flexible.  If I really don’t want to do something that day I do it a different day.

When I talk about time, or use the words: about, approximately, etc., it generally means within a half an hour.  That is the beauty of my semi-retired schedule, it isn’t in absolutes, it is very general give or take that 1/2 hour time frame.

  • 6:30 – The wife and I talk about the day and what we have planned. Make the bed, etc.
  • 6:45 – Take Bennie for his morning 1.0 mile walk. This is not a power walk and we have several places where he stops and sniffs.  We make him sit and wait for each car that goes by. Usually there are 5-6 cars (the people are going to work) in that 1/2 hour walk, not that much traffic, but a heckuva lot more than there used to be.
  • 7:15 – Household chores, cleaning up what messes the 5 cats made, sweeping, the morning routine cleanup.
  • 7:30 – 8:30 – Have breakfast, 90% of the time I have a 1/4 cup Quick Oatmeal, 1/4 cup blueberries (and other seasonal fruit), Flax seeds and honey mixture, along with a banana and 16 oz of black coffee.
    During this time I read my emails, Google Reader, check Facebook and Google + and think about what really needs to get done during the day versus what I want to do. I think about a blog post and go over several ideas.
  • Around 8:30 I go into the library and “read” a chapter or two of my current bathroom book.
  • 9:00 – I go for a run/walk, my knee is progressing so I was up to 2.0 mile run (this week I had a setback, but will be back soon) and 1.0 mile walk.  Then lift weights in back of the garage for about 10-15 minutes
  • 9:45 – Take Bennie for his long walk, usually around 3.0 miles or start project work around the house, if wife and stepdaughter walk Bennie.
  • 11:30 – Stop for lunch.  Usually have a fresh garden salad – straight from our garden, Thousand Island dressing, homemade leftovers or a peanut butter sandwich (Teddy brand) with homemade jelly/jam. To drink – a herbal tea of some sort and water. With a mini chocolate or two for desert.
    Read my emails, Google Reader, Facebook, and Google + and work on a blog post or read a book (electronic or paper).
  • 1:00 – Work on projects around the house. The next couple of months will be cutting firewood mostly, but need to repair/paint front steps, replace back steps.  Mostly general house maintenance stuff that you don’t have time for when you are working full-time. I have a pretty large “honey-doo” list that needs to get done before colder weather.
    Some afternoons are devoted to bonding time with Bennie in my recliner, I take a nap with him in my lap 😉
  • 3:30 – Take Bennie for another 1.0 mile walk
  • 4:00 – Check computer/finish blog posts up, read and relax
  • 4:30 – Shower time – Definitely needed
  • 5:00 – Help with making supper and eat with wife at the table.  Most of the time wife makes homemade meals of some sort.  We very seldom eat out.
  • 6:00 – Put things away leftovers and do dishes.
  • 6:30 – Last Bennie walk of the day (stepdaughter has taken over this one for now), shoot 20 shots at target (archery)
  • 7:00 – 10:00 – Work on computer, play NeverWinter Nights 2, research topics that interest me, read books, do little projects. We usually have the Red Sox game on in the background or else something on from NatGeo, One of the History Channels, Discovery or something like that.

Around 10:00 go to bed and read for a while.  Right now my bathroom book and bedtime reading book is John Seymour’s “The Self-Sufficient Life and How to Live It”

Bennie is a 5 mile a day dog, if he doesn’t get those 5 miles in, he can be a hell on wheels – I guess it is the Jack Russell Terrier in him.  Some have called him ADHD on speed.

Generally I don’t leave the house more than a few times a week – I am a bit, no a lot of a homebody and that is what I wanted when I went into semi-retirement.

That is pretty much a day in the life, not a real stressful day, but I get a little bit done each day and take time to do the little things that I never had time for in the past.  Like sharpening my saws, cleaning out my side of the garage, properly preparing surfaces for painting (instead of just slapping paint over it).

In other words, I have the time to do things right, instead of half-assed.  The added benefit is that I notice my ability to focus on something is improving.  My stress levels are more in line with what I want from life, compared to what they were when I was a teacher.

As I get more of the honey-doo list done, I plan to start learning and practicing new skills, that might be interesting or fun to learn. A lot like I recently learned how to sharpen a saw.   Useful skills that can be used around the house.

That is a day in my life.  Kind of boring, but you know something – I like it.

What does your day look like?